IELTS Certificate

The International English Language Testing System

The International English Language Testing System, abbreviated as IELTS, is a global English language certificate. The IELTS test is one of the most widely recognized international tests around the world. It was first introduced in 1989 in the UK, in contrast to the American TOEFL certificate. The IELTS certificate measures individuals’ proficiency in English and assists universities and colleges in selecting students who possess good English language skills to understand university course materials, participate in lectures, and engage in educational and research activities in English.

Types of IELTS Test

There are two types of the test, as follows:

Details of the IELTS Test

Both the academic and general IELTS tests aim to measure English language proficiency in four aspects: listening, reading, writing, and speaking. The tests for writing, reading, and listening are conducted on the same day without any breaks in between. The speaking test may take place on the same day or within a day or two before or after the other tests.

The IELTS certificate is awarded to anyone who completes the IELTS test regardless of their score; there is no pass or fail, but rather, the examinee receives a score from 0 to 9. The validity of the certificate is two years from the date of issue, and it can be renewed by taking another test.

It is worth mentioning that each university around the world determines the score it accepts on the IELTS certificate according to the criteria it sets to evaluate and differentiate among students.

*The cost of the IELTS test is approximately $145.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *